Betty Jane

I come to you in the cold air of the night,

Whistling the songs of the birds that fly free,

Telling to you that  I now have my wings,

Though I cannot rest my cheek to your bone

Nor cradle your head in my hands when you so

Desperately long for it, my warmth can no longer

Spread upon you but instead around you,

For you cannot see me but you feel me,

My presence does not end simply when my

Worldly body can no longer support my spirit.

You continue to see me on the backs of the gulls

Flying through the breeze, the shells tumbling against

The sand, the wonder in a strangers smile, but

Most importantly in the twinkle of your eyes

For I have not gone away…

The place where I reside remains in you

20140109-225305.jpg

Leave a Reply

